NO. 18-2 – IN RE SUPPLEMENTAL JUROR ATTENDANCE FEES


Pursuant to Title 28, United States Code, Section 1871(b)(1), “a juror shall be paid an attendance fee of $50 per day for actual attendance at the place of trial or hearing”, effective May 7, 2018.

Pursuant to Section 1871(b)(2), a petit juror required to attend more than ten days in hearing on case may be paid, an additional fee, not exceeding $10 more than the attendance fee, for each day in excess of ten days on which he or she is required to hear such a case. The Judicial Administration and Technical Amendments Act of 2008, reduces the threshold for applying this additional $10 fee to be applied after ten (10) days of service on one case, effective October 1, 2009.

Pursuant to Title 28, United States Code, Section 1871(b)(3), a grand juror required to attend more that forty-five days of actual service may be paid an additional fee, not exceeding $10 more than the attendance fee, for each day in excess of forty-five days of actual service.

IT IS ORDERED that the supplemental $10 fee is to be applied automatically to petit and grand jurors when they reach the statutory minimum for the increase, without prior leave of the court. However the presiding judge in his or her discretion may order that the supplemental fee not be paid.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated this 26th day of April 2018.

s/ Julie A. Robinson
Julie A. Robinson
Chief Judge, U.S. District Court
District of Kansas

Standing Order 18-02 – Juror Attendance Fees (PDF)


Currently Browsing Section XVI. Standing Orders

< Previous Local Rule | Back To Local Rules | Next Local Rule >
U.S. Federal Court District of Kansas